Latest News

Professor Frey receives a grant from the Ford Foundation

Professor Seth Frey and his collaborators received a $50K Digital Infrastructure Insights Fund grant from the Ford Foundation. His team will be working on identifying ways to make it easier for open source software projects to transition to community-driven governance.

NCA23 Research Showcase

Research conducted by in the Department of Communication will be featured at this year's meeting of the National Communication Association. Researchers in the Department will present a total of 13 different projects. Our faculty and students hold important leadership roles at NCA; Dr. Laramie Taylor is Second Vice Chair-Elect for the Mass Communication Division and NCA Doctoral Education Committee Member.

Brooke Isrow Named Outstanding Senior

Brooke Isrow has been named the 2023 Outstanding Senior for the Department of Communication.

Brooke is graduating with a double-major in Communication and Psychology and she also completed a minor in professional writing. Brooke started her UC Davis journey by majoring in Political Science. However, after founding the Aggie Mentors program to guide incoming students at UC Davis, she realized that she enjoyed multiple aspects of communication. She then took Introduction to Communication 10V and quickly added the major.

Professor Wojcieszak Featured in KTVU

False claims of a stolen election thrive unchecked on Twitter as Musk promises otherwise.

Professor Wojcieszak is featured extensively in an interview by KTVU. The interview focuses on claims about election fraud on Twitter, and the disconnect between Elon Musk's claims and empirical reality.

Professor Yegiyan Awarded Large Research Grant

Dr. Yegiyan's project will examine ways to reduce multitasking and improve student outcomes.

Associate Professor Yegiyan was just awarded a research grant to pursue a project titled “Developing Online Video Design strategies to Reduce Disruptive Multitasking and Improve Learning Outcomes across Diverse Student Groups”. Congratulations to Dr. Yegiyan!