2024 Communication Senior Awards

Quick Summary

  • Every year, high performing Communication Seniors are recognized by Communication faculty for their outstanding achievements, which include both academic and extracurricular activities.
Students at a UC Davis Graduation in their regalia. A cap says "UCD" and has the Cal Aggies logo.

The Department of Communication recognizes graduating students with a high GPA who also have noteworthy achievements in other areas, which may include research, leadership in the classroom, and other extra-curricular activities. Among these high performing students, 16 students were recognized with a departmental citation award this year. These include: Athena Amanatidis; Jennifer Chavez Valencia; Junyue Chen; Riley Cisneros-Mann; Marisa Davidson; Teagan Drake; Di Fan; Joshua Gilcrest; Rebecca Liu; Margaret Maue; Julie Mccaffrey; Colleen  Mcguire;  Scott Pennebaker; Maia Salter; Jackie Sauer; and Ziyi Zeng.

In addition, one student is selected as Outstanding Senior. This recognition goes to a student who has made an outstanding contribution to their learning environment through active academic engagement, whether through involvement in a research group or creative production, significant contributions to classroom discussion, leadership in student groups committed to the advancement of learning, or other intellectual pursuits with faculty and fellow students. This year, Henry Rehor was selected as the Outstanding Senior of 2024.

Professor Drew Cingel, Director of the Human Development and Media Lab (HDML), described Henry’s noteworthy accomplishments as an outstanding member of the undergraduate research assistant team in the HDML. Dr. Cingel noted, “During his time as a team leader, [Henry] has helped to plan and organize data collection for a variety of projects. He has substantially contributed to the lab in his role, and always maintains a high quality of work and scientific rigor… He is an outstanding scientist who is incredibly deserving of our department’s recognition, and we look forward to seeing all that he accomplishes next!”

Congratulations to all our 2024 award recipients!